Improving water security for the poor

REACH-WISER: Water Insecurity, Equity and Resilience

REACH-WISER is an international, comparative research initiative to understand how water security risks are negotiated and managed at an individual level, in line with REACH risk-based framework. It builds on the foundational work done through science-practitioner partnerships across three of REACH’s water security observatories in Bangladesh, Ethiopia and Kenya. Collaboration partners are the University of Oxford, the Bangladesh University Engineering and Technology, the Water & Land Resource Centre (Addis Ababa University), the University of Nairobi, Tufts University, Uppsala Universitet, and the University of Waterloo.  

Water security risks are managed at different scales through multiple processes that determine which risks are addressed and for whom. Understanding these processes is critical to ensuring water security inequalities can be addressed. REACH-WISER is working to better understand these processes at the individual and community scale, exploring gendered household dynamics of water insecurity. The interdisciplinary team are focusing on a breadth of research themes, working in communities across rural, peri-urban and urban areas. A combination of qualitative and quantitative research methods are being used for data collection across seasons and settings. Methods include community contextualization with surveys and focus group discussions, a multi-season, intra-household survey as well as in-depth interviews with community members, practitioners and policy-makers.

 

People

""

Dr Salome Bukachi
Associate Professor
sallybukachi@yahoo.com

Cheruiyot Buses Kipngéno
Research Fellow (Quantitative)
cherukip@gmail.com

Prof Katrina Charles
REACH Co-Director and Professor of Environmental Health Risks
katrina.charles@ouce.ox.ac.uk

""

Dr Cheryl R. Doss
Associate Professor in Development Economics
cheryl.doss@qeh.ox.ac.uk

Dr Ellen Dyer
Postdoctoral Researcher in African Climate
ellen.dyer@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Daniel Esukuku Ekai
Research Assistant
esukukudan500@gmail.com

Dr Engdasew Feleke Lemma
Postdoctoral Researcher in the REACH-WISER programme
engdu11@gmail.com

""

Dr Catherine Fallon Grasham
Postdoctoral Researcher in Water Security and Society
catherine.grasham@smithschool.ox.ac.uk

""

Dr Marya Hillesland
Research Officer
marya.hillesland@qeh.ox.ac.uk

""

Dr Sonia Ferdous Hoque
Postdoctoral Researcher in Water Security and Society
sonia.hoque@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Fahreen Hossain
Research Associate
hfahreen@gmail.com

Md Rajibul Islam
Senior Research Associate
rajib.reach.bd@gmail.com

""

Dr Marina Korzenevica-Proud
Postdoctoral researcher
marina.korzenevica@smithschool.ox.ac.uk

Mercy Mbithe
Research Fellow
mercymbithe93@gmail.com

""

Dr Saskia Nowicki
Postdoctoral Researcher in Drinking-Water Safety
saskia.nowicki@ouce.ox.ac.uk

""

Dr. Sara Nowreen
Assistant Professor, Hydrogeology and Groundwater
snowreen@iwfm.buet.ac.bd

Dr Dalmas O. Omia
Research Fellow, UoN
ochiengomia@uonbi.ac.ke

Khonker Taskin Anmol

anmol.reach.bd@gmail.com

Bonface Wanguba
Research Associate
bonfacewanguba@gmail.com

‘Our partnership with REACH recognises science has a critical role in designing and delivering effective policy and improving practice on the ground.’

KELLY ANN NAYLOR, ASSOCIATE DIRECTOR, WATER, SANITATION AND HYGIENE (WASH) SECTION, PROGRAMME DIVISION, UNICEF

'Access to water is a defining challenge for the 21st century. The UK has already helped 43 million people to access clean water, but there is far more to be done.'

UK DEPARTMENT FOR INTERNATIONAL DEVELOPMENT PARLIAMENTARY UNDER SECRETARY OF STATE
Loading...
Skip to content